top of page

Chery Tiggo 9 price Malaysia: what the ACE 2026 RM18k rebate buys

Oct 9
5 min read
Wattz Media

By Catherine Teo · Value & Ownership columnist · 09 Oct 2026


Chery Tiggo 9 price Malaysia: what the ACE 2026 RM18k rebate buys

The ACE 2026 rebate lands the Tiggo 9 on its June sticker. The better Chery deal is a longer Tiggo 8 PHEV battery warranty.


At a glance



Source

Tiggo 9 at ACE 2026

RM179,800

Paultan.org

Rebate claimed

RM18,000

Paultan.org

Tiggo 8 PHEV at ACE 2026

RM159,800

Paultan.org

Tiggo 8 PHEV battery warranty

10 years

Paultan.org

Above the June promo

RM21,000

Our arithmetic


TL;DR

  • At ACE 2026, the Chery Tiggo 9 price in Malaysia is RM179,800 after an RM18,000 rebate, Paultan.org reports.

  • RM179,800 is also the Prime package price in the June 2026 launch report, so the sticker does not drop.

  • The Tiggo 8 PHEV stays at its RM159,800 launch price, but its battery warranty grows from 8 to 10 years.


The headline rebate does not take the Chery Tiggo 9 below its launch sticker. At ACE 2026, the Chery Tiggo 9 price in Malaysia is RM179,800, the same figure Chery listed for the Prime package in June. So what does a Chery buyer at the show actually save, and who pays for the deal?


Infographic: Chery Tiggo 9 price Malaysia: what the ACE 2026 RM18k rebate buys


What is the Chery Tiggo 9 price in Malaysia at ACE 2026?

Paultan.org runs the Auto Car Expo (ACE) 2026 at Setia City Convention Centre on 31 Oct and 01 Nov. According to its show preview, Chery takes RM18,000 off the Tiggo 9 for a final RM179,800. It is the flagship that launched in June: a 2.0-litre turbo engine (256 PS, 390 Nm), a seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox, and seven seats.


The preview does not say which price the rebate comes off. Our arithmetic: RM179,800 + RM18,000 = RM197,800. That figure does not appear in the June launch report. That report, also from Paultan.org, lists two packages. The Prime sticker was RM179,800. Chery then handed back RM5,000 in cash and RM3,000 for petrol, and it added a first year of insurance. Net of the two cash items, Prime came to RM171,800. The Flexi buyer paid RM166,800 and got none of those extras.


Looking strictly at the numbers, the ACE price equals the June Prime sticker. The preview does not mention free insurance, a cash rebate or a petrol subsidy. A buyer cannot tell from it whether the June extras are still part of the deal.


Thinking about an EV? Drive one for a few days before you buy.

Is the 10-year engine warranty new?

No. The ACE preview repeats the three terms from the June launch report. The vehicle gets seven years or 150,000 km. The engine gets 10 years or 1,000,000 km. Labour service is free for five years.


The 1,000,000 km figure needs context. To use the full distance inside 10 years, a car must cover 100,000 km a year (our arithmetic: 1,000,000 / 10). For a driver who covers far less, the 10-year limit is the one that counts.


Is the Tiggo 8 PHEV good value at RM159,800?

The Tiggo 8 PHEV is the plug-in hybrid in this offer, and its deal is warranty, not price. RM159,800 is its October 2025 launch price. At launch, Paultan.org reported an 18.3 kWh LFP battery, a 90 km WLTP electric range and CKD assembly in Kulim. At launch, Chery covered the battery, motor and hybrid control unit for eight years or 160,000 km. The ACE preview extends the battery warranty to 10 years. It gives no distance limit for the extension.


The price history matters more than the two extra years. In June 2026, Chery's third-anniversary campaign listed the same seven-seater at RM138,800, Paultan.org reported. That is RM21,000 below the ACE price (our arithmetic: RM159,800 - RM138,800). Chery set no closing date for that June price, only a stock limit. So the ACE buyer pays RM21,000 more than a June buyer and gets two more years of battery cover.


How does the Tiggo 8 PHEV compare with rival PHEVs?

Model

Price

Battery

Electric range

Battery warranty

Seats

Chery Tiggo 8 PHEV (ACE 2026)

RM159,800

18.3 kWh LFP

90 km (WLTP)

10 years, distance not stated

7

Jetour T2 i-DM

RM162,800

18.4 kWh LFP

Over 100 km (cycle not stated)

8 years or 160,000 km

Not stated

Proton eMas 7 PHEV Premium Plus

RM125,800

29.8 kWh LFP

136 km (WLTP)

8 years or 160,000 km

Not stated

Proton eMas 7 PHEV Prime

RM105,800

18.4 kWh LFP

83 km (WLTP)

8 years or 160,000 km

Not stated


Source: Paultan.org, 09 Oct 2026 and 03 Oct 2025 (Chery), 19 Sep 2026 (Jetour) and 14 Sep 2026 (Proton). The Jetour price is nett, without road tax and insurance. The others are on the road, without insurance.


Seven seats are confirmed for the Chery alone here. The eMas 7 PHEV Premium Plus has a larger battery and a longer WLTP electric range for RM34,000 less (our arithmetic: RM159,800 - RM125,800). The Jetour costs RM3,000 more and also carries a 10-year or 1,000,000 km engine warranty, Paultan.org reports. On battery cover, the ACE Tiggo 8 PHEV now leads the table in years, but its distance limit is unknown. Buyers who do not need seven seats can also compare full EVs in our list of EVs under RM150,000.


Who pays for the ACE deal?

A Tiggo 9 buyer who expects RM18,000 off the June sticker pays the same sticker. A Tiggo 8 PHEV buyer at ACE pays the launch price for a longer battery warranty. Chery takes on the warranty liability, which is the cost of the repairs it promises to pay later. Show visitors get one shared perk: the first 200 confirmed bookings receive RM3,000 in vouchers, Paultan.org reports.



Catherine's take

An RM18,000 rebate that lands on the June sticker is a headline, not a discount. The Tiggo 9 buyer at ACE pays RM179,800, as a Prime buyer did in June, and the preview does not confirm the June extras. The plug-in hybrid is where the actual value question sits. Battery cover is what worries a plug-in hybrid owner most at resale, and Chery now adds two years of it. Against the June promo, those two years cost RM21,000. That is the trade-off in plain numbers. Before a booking fee, get three things on paper: the pre-rebate price, the battery warranty distance limit, and whether it passes to a second owner. That is where the residual value of this car sits.


Drive an EV before you buy one. Rent one from Wattz.

References


Related news


Catherine Teo is a Wattz Newsdesk columnist. AI-assisted, edited by Wattz.


Comments


bottom of page